Does imagining a horse driven coach, speeding across the muddy woodland trail, excite you? Well, a few centuries ago that was a usual scene, painting the landscape of this Cornish town, Camelford. History reveals that ancient Camelford was a busy trade route during the medieval time.
Heavy trading activities resulted into the creation of a new Borough, Camelford. Its commercial face value accelerated in 1259, following a royal charter issued by Richard, Earl of Cornwall.
The name Camelford actually comes from Camalanford, Cam, meaning crooked, Alan, meaning beautiful and Ford meaning a shallow land, by the river. The symbol of a Camel that is displayed in the Town Hall is often related with the town, but the town has nothing to do with the animal Camel. The symbol might be confusing, but its proper interpretation is believed to be the symbolic representation of the river Camel that flows by the town.
The natural beauty of Camelford, is tempting and mysteriously attractive. This beautiful Cornish town, in North Cornwall, is situated in the river valley of Camel. It is equidistant from the surfing beaches of Bude and the well known historic town of Bodmin Moor. A distance of about six miles from Camelford takes you to the charming villages, Boscastle and Tintagel. This peaceful town of Camelford, has for years been a favourite holiday location for vacationers.
Camelford is regarded as highly historical because of its association with King Arthur. It is believed that the heroic King Arthur held his Court of Camelot, here in this very Camelford. Later, the King was defeated and killed by his nephew Mordred, in a fierce battle fought at the nearby village of Slaughterbridge, The tomb of King Arthur, a 1500-year-old ancient monument, is a huge tourist attraction.
One of the many historic buildings that line the streets of Camelford, is the Mason Arm's coaching inn. Located across the bridge, adjacent to the 1521 Bridge House, Mason Arm's with its two gigantic arches date back to 1600. The inn, renovated and expanded in 1755, was well known for its spacious layout and a comprehensive variety of facilities. Back in those days, Mason Arm's was of immense importance because of its strategic location on the primary coaching route that connected London with Falmouth.
The former jail house, now a cheese factory, is down the main road. Prisoners of war, during the Napoleonic Wars were kept in this dreaded jail. After the First World War this jail house, also known as the town jail, was converted into a cheese factory.
One of Camelford's most distinguished buildings is the Town Hall. A weather-vane in the shape of a big bright golden camel, adds charm to this ancient building. The two storied granite structure on Chapel Street, were built in 1806 by the Duke of Bedford. It was once the most prominent market house in the region. The building, now houses a town library, and was in use till 1906. It was used as an event venue for literary events, cultural programs and county courts. The present library in Town Hall has an extensive collection of documents related to Camelford's history.
The historic town of Camelford was once a business hub during the medieval time, is also a tourist hub for its close proximity to other beautiful Cornish locations.
Located a distance of few miles from Camelford, is the picturesque fishing village of Port Issac. Bordering its East is the historic town of Launceston and to its North, is the quaint seaside resort Bude.
Southeast of Camelford, known for its captivating moorland, is the former county town of Bodmin Moor. North of Bodmin are two alluring villages, St Breward and Blisland. The highest peaks of Cornwall, the Rough Tor and Brown Willy, reaches out towards the sky in this village of St Breward.
To the south of Camelford, is the tidal mouth of River Camel, an appealing estuary near Wadebridge.
Camelford is loved by tourists for its excellent scenic beauty, historical value and its closeness to other cool Cornish locations. With ample opportunity for touring, fishing, swimming and surfing, holidaying in Camelford is a dream come true.